la da da da da da da…feeling groovy

The other day, I heard a song that always gives me a happy feeling inside. 🙂

Also, this is nifty:

http://www.messybeast.com/genetics/hybrid-bears.htm

Lots of things give me a happy… Like friends who love me for me, even though I’m not as awesome as I’d like to be, and even though I’m evil sometimes… I am so lucky that I have been able to surround myself with people who are un-pretentious–for the most part–and who are always honest with themselves as well as with me. (This is an important thing: One of the worst times I ever had was when I was with a guy who loved to play head-games with me, trying to get me to believe stuff that wasn’t true. He’d do stupid stuff, and tell me over and over that what I knew wasn’t what had actually happened–even though I was there when he said/did/saw/whatever… It got really frustrating. Happily, I eventually I realized what was going on–that he needed elaborate fantasies to make himself feel better or some such–and I made a run for it. Lesson learned.)

Other things that make me happy:

–Realizing that doing things (that harm none) to make me happy, without stressing over what others think, is an acceptable option

–Taking time to wander randomly through the woods

–Finding esoteric reading material and taking the time to make use of it.

–Learning something fun and new, regardless of whether it will ever be useful. (Because all knowledge is worth having…)

–Warm showers after cool rain

–Cool rain after a hot day

–When the A/C fixes itself (Hooray!)

–When the kids give me hugs after a long day

–When they go to bed when I ask them to. 🙂

And stuff like this:

http://www.usatoday.com/sports/baseball/nl/reds/2008-06-09-griffey-600_N.htm?csp=34

Ken Griffey, Jr is so totally the man: He’s reached this milestone without being a jerk and a druggie. I’m so happy for him that he’s done this.

It’s the little things that make life grand: The realization that not everything has to have a knowable purpose. The cool of a misty morning before the heat wave kicks in and everyone wants to hide. Being able to run around in a swimsuit, under a sprinkler, without caring whether anyone has the audacity to laugh at me. 🙂

Taking the time to really enjoy the company of a truly good person.

Taking the time to truly enjoy a moment before it’s gone.

Leave a Reply

